Pine Lakes Golf Course Reviews

An extensive renovation now brings an extraordinary, four-star designed Myrtle Beach golf club - true to the classic architecture of Pine Lakes, while also achieving a dynamic expansion, restoration and full blossoming of this historically prominent facility. The revamped Granddaddy debuted in March 2009.

OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.63]

  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [8]
Based on 623 reviews »

Last 20 Reviews from Myrtle Beach Golf Insider



MB Golfer on 01/29/2017:
"Course is always in great shape. Nice greens, good fairway over seeding, and even when it rains, course drains very well. I always try for some rounds when here in South Carolina."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.00]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Joe on 09/25/2016:
"Great course...greens were as consistent and true as I have played...all staff was very friendly and it was a great experience...I played as a single and paired with three gentlemen from Ohio...super playing partners...will absolutely play there again"
OVERALL SCORE: [10.00]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
David on 07/17/2016:
"Beautiful place. Except for the fringes around most greens, course is in great shape."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.83]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [10]
David on 06/27/2016:
"Nice course. Not too taxing but in great shape. All round great value for money and worth a visit."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.17]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Scott on 06/22/2016:
"Nice open track. Not overly long, but some shot making required. Greens were in good shape, but were VERY slow"
OVERALL SCORE: [ 7.83]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [6]
  • Fairways:
    [7]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Ted on 05/19/2016:
"Course is great shape. Tee boxes,fairways & greens are awesome. I haven't played here in a couple of years & but was very pleased with what I saw today. Nice layout. Staff very accommodating."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.33]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Craig on 04/27/2016:
"Course was in great shape. Very slow play, though. Staff is outstanding and helpful."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.33]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [7]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Ryan on 04/21/2016:
"Came down with a group of 32 players. Course was in good shape and enjoyed playing. However, the staff from the moment we got out of our vehicle was the most rude, crude I've ever witnessed. The bag boy was without question the most rude and it was evident all he gave a crap about was loading your clubs for a tip. I wouldn't spend another dime at this place nor will my group next trip. Beware!!!!"
OVERALL SCORE: [ 6.67]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [1]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [1]
Danny on 04/10/2016:
"Pro shop staff and bag drop staff were very friendly starter was good. The course was in good shape greens and fairways are excellent. Rough is still very brown. We had been played ten days in a row at many different Founders Group of courses and decided to eat at Pine Lakes after reading the menu. The service was not good and then our order when it came was not as explained by our server. Would recommend the course but service at the grill was not good."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 7.00]
  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [7]
  • Grill:
    [3]
  • Staff:
    [5]
Paul Steers on 03/19/2016:
"we have not played pine lakes in years gave it a go and were happy we did staff and course all good."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.17]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Mike(Oneida,NY) on 03/17/2016:
"Let me first state that the staff was very friendly and helpful. Have read other reviews about bad staff and I couldn't disagree more. This is a great course and was in very good shape. The greens were a bit slow but true. Definitely a must play."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.83]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [9]
John M. on 10/27/2015:
"We played this course as an opener to our golf trip and we were delighted with the experience. From the magnificent clubhouse to the practice area to the staff and to the course itself we had a great day. The course was in great condition and is very fair in that it rewards good shots. The putting surfaces were very good but all putts required attention. Overall the experience was top class and for those making their first visit to Myrtle Beach then I would recommend the course as a good introduction."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.17]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Peter on 10/11/2015:
"Course layout is fantastic. The course itself was in good shape. My first time playing here and I was totally impressed. The staff were okay and very friendly. I would recommend anyone looking for a good course to play this one for sure, all though a slightly higher price I feel it is worth it. Don't forget to stop in and have a bite to eat either, well worth it."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.67]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Peter on 10/09/2015:
"The oldest course in Myrtle Beach is a gem. I was impressed with the shape of the course even after the flooding that took place the weekend before we got there. Total time to play was just over 4 hours which was excellent. A must play for anyone heading to the area. Can't wait to play it again."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.50]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [7]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [8]
Bill on 09/26/2015:
"Great starter, course staff not the most friendly but OK, also no cart girl at all - did not see her at all that is a big negative especially after they stressed NO personal coolers. If your cart girl never comes around then we would like to bring our own next time!"
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.67]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [8]
Cjl on 09/14/2015:
"The golf course was nice, the day was beautiful! The bag drop attendants were curt and very interested in only talking to themselves. The golf marshals at the turn continued the rudeness and unprofessionalism at Pine Lakes. Needless to say, this USED TO BE a favorite on our annual trip to Myrtle Beach!"
OVERALL SCORE: [ 7.00]
  • Tees:
    [7]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [7]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [1]
Jim on 09/13/2015:
"Today our foursome just had 4 pars on the 9th hole and we were all excited to be playing such good golf as we headed to the back nine. There was no other groups behind us for 3 holes and the pace of play was good. The starter named Ed (originally from Chantilly VA) was there at the green. He yelled to us "2:16!". I asked what that meant and he barked back "you're playing slower than I would like - 4 hours and 15 minutes is what I want". I replied "you're saying we're 8 minutes slow...? Well that's outrageous and you're missing the point of why we are here. It's to have fun." Clearly this guy is not in the right job. What he said ruined the day for me and soured the good course conditions and great layout. The fairways and greens were beautiful, the variety of holes was great and overall played long from the white tees. It's amazing that I hadn't played this course before, especially since I've played over 50 courses in the area over the past 30 years. Too bad the starter is such a small thinker and spoiled a fun day; fun thru 9 holes that is."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.17]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [1]
Tom on 09/04/2015:
"Played there for the first time last year, left quite a few strokes out on the course. I intended to rectify that situation, when we go back in October. This is now one of our two must play courses, out of the 6 we usually choose. It was very beautiful course and even being in the center of town, there was quite a bit on wildlife. I would recommend this course to anyone, it was liked by everyone in our group, and our handicaps range from 2 -32."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.83]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [7]
  • Grill:
    [6]
  • Staff:
    [10]
gjankowsk on 08/20/2015:
"Course was in very good shape. Very disappointed in the staff and overall experience. Played there about 10 years ago and it was great! The starter was fully dressed as a Scotsman. They served soup/chowder on the back nine. Great great time! This round however was just plain and business like and seeing where they cross started it took FOREVER to play the back nine! I believe the "ranger" knew the very slow foursome in front of us because he kept stopping and talking to them...never sped them up. Will not play there again. The "ranger" said to us we should not play so fast (we were not) as a response to our comments about slow play in front of us!"
OVERALL SCORE: [ 6.17]
  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [5]
  • Grill:
    [5]
  • Staff:
    [2]
Jim G. on 07/19/2015:
"I hadn't played this course for many years since our spring group years ago finally stopped coming because we felt that management was really never interested in whether we had a good time. I went back this year to play the updated course. I was a single, had a tee time around 8:00, and arrived about 25 minutes early. Starter immediately asked me to tee off in a earlier group without any time to warm up or ever hit a practice putt. I didn't want to make a fuss, but I once again felt that course management wasn't interested in whether I had a good time, they just wanted to fill all openings in the tee sheet. In my mind, management still didn't care about the customers. I ended up playing OK but will think twice before I return. Greens were OK, but many fairways had significant poor grass areas. Maybe this is a result of the harsh winter. You definitely can't play summer rules (or play it down) at Pine Lakes. I played the course at 6300 yards. There were two par five's, but also had 4 par four's over 400 years. So, it felt longer that a normal 6300 yard course. Last comment is that the greens crew needs better training. The 16th hole is a pretty par 3. The pin was in the back. The entire back of the green on the right side was perfect. But the greens staff placed the flag on the left in an area that has many pot marks of dead grass. There was no excuse for that pin position."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 6.67]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [4]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [2]
See All 623 reviews »