Pine Lakes Golf Course Reviews

An extensive renovation now brings an extraordinary, four-star designed Myrtle Beach golf club - true to the classic architecture of Pine Lakes, while also achieving a dynamic expansion, restoration and full blossoming of this historically prominent facility. The revamped Granddaddy debuted in March 2009.

OVERALL SCORE: 8.6 [8.6]

  • Tees:
    9 [9]
  • Greens:
    9 [9]
  • Fairways:
    9 [9]
  • Proshop:
    9 [9]
  • Grill:
    9 [9]
  • Staff:
    9 [9]
Based on 649 reviews »

Last 20 Reviews from Myrtle Beach Golf Insider



Dan H on 09/21/2018:
" Pine Lakes was nothing less than exceptional. My wife and I got married there last weekend and I had the chance to play the track with my groomsmen. Greens were in excellent condition and rolled pure. Everyone was a pleasure to talk to and provided a great experience for all of us. Highly recommend this track to anyone visiting Myrtle Beach. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Gary H on 09/04/2018:
" One of my favorite courses Ive ever played! Fairways were beautiful and greens were in top shape condition. My wife and I will be back to play again. And the staff was awesome. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Peter E on 09/03/2018:
" Terrific shape, course is wonderful. Staff is friendly as ever. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Gary C on 07/09/2018:
" Pine Lakes is a glorious track that tests all your shots and patience. The greens are always in great shape and the customer service is second to no one. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Tom G on 07/01/2018:
" Excellent course in great shape for this time of year. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Christopher H on 06/30/2018:
" I love this course and the employees are top notch. My only issue is you dont get a lot of release or roll. Not sure if its design or watering, but I lost strokes, especially around the greens, from the ball just dying. That said, highly recommend, greens are great, course is challenging, but fair and fun. "
OVERALL SCORE: 8 [8]
Charles P on 05/22/2018:
" Great layout , First class operation....only flaw was some idiot took a cart a did donuts on a couple of greens, repairs were well done did not effect ball roll. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Bill on 01/14/2018:
" Over a period of 13 years our group of12 golfers from North East England have taken a two week golfing trip to Myrtle Beach. Over those years we have played over 50 of the excellent courses in South Carolina. Pine Lakes, The Grandaddy is our Number 1 course "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Drew on 11/13/2017:
" The course is in fantastic shape, and playing really well. It was a little wet due to the rain recently which is to be expected. Greens were fast and rolling smooth. The overseed has really come in nicely and the fairways are in great shape. Well worth the visit to play and the employees are always fun to chat with. Great experience. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Brian W on 08/18/2017:
" Course is in outstanding shape. We were riding fairways even though we had rain 4 days in a row. Greens are just about perfect and rolled great. Staff is excellent; friendly and helpful. Great bar, we watched the PGA Championship there for a bit after the round..beers were ice cold and great sandwiches. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Dave on 08/16/2017:
" Course was in great shape ! Tees, fairways & greens were perfect. Staff very friendly, course never disappoints when we play there. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Trey W. on 07/18/2017:
" We play Pine Lakes every year we visit Myrtle Beach. Course is in great shape and never disappoints. The history of club is very interesting and love the clubhouse! "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
MB Golfer on 01/29/2017:
" Course is always in great shape. Nice greens, good fairway over seeding, and even when it rains, course drains very well. I always try for some rounds when here in South Carolina. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Joe on 09/25/2016:
" Great course...greens were as consistent and true as I have played...all staff was very friendly and it was a great experience...I played as a single and paired with three gentlemen from Ohio...super playing partners...will absolutely play there again "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Scott on 06/22/2016:
" Nice open track. Not overly long, but some shot making required. Greens were in good shape, but were VERY slow "
OVERALL SCORE: 8 [8]
Ted on 05/19/2016:
" Course is great shape. Tee boxes,fairways & greens are awesome. I haven't played here in a couple of years & but was very pleased with what I saw today. Nice layout. Staff very accommodating. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Ryan on 04/21/2016:
" Came down with a group of 32 players. Course was in good shape and enjoyed playing. However, the staff from the moment we got out of our vehicle was the most rude, crude I've ever witnessed. The bag boy was without question the most rude and it was evident all he gave a crap about was loading your clubs for a tip. I wouldn't spend another dime at this place nor will my group next trip. Beware!!!! "
OVERALL SCORE: 7 [7]
Danny on 04/10/2016:
" Pro shop staff and bag drop staff were very friendly starter was good. The course was in good shape greens and fairways are excellent. Rough is still very brown. We had been played ten days in a row at many different Founders Group of courses and decided to eat at Pine Lakes after reading the menu. The service was not good and then our order when it came was not as explained by our server. Would recommend the course but service at the grill was not good. "
OVERALL SCORE: 7 [7]
Mike(Oneida,NY) on 03/17/2016:
" Let me first state that the staff was very friendly and helpful. Have read other reviews about bad staff and I couldn't disagree more. This is a great course and was in very good shape. The greens were a bit slow but true. Definitely a must play. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
John M. on 10/27/2015:
" We played this course as an opener to our golf trip and we were delighted with the experience. From the magnificent clubhouse to the practice area to the staff and to the course itself we had a great day. The course was in great condition and is very fair in that it rewards good shots. The putting surfaces were very good but all putts required attention. Overall the experience was top class and for those making their first visit to Myrtle Beach then I would recommend the course as a good introduction. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Cjl on 09/14/2015:
" The golf course was nice, the day was beautiful! The bag drop attendants were curt and very interested in only talking to themselves. The golf marshals at the turn continued the rudeness and unprofessionalism at Pine Lakes. Needless to say, this USED TO BE a favorite on our annual trip to Myrtle Beach! "
OVERALL SCORE: 7 [7]
Jim on 09/13/2015:
" Today our foursome just had 4 pars on the 9th hole and we were all excited to be playing such good golf as we headed to the back nine. There was no other groups behind us for 3 holes and the pace of play was good. The starter named Ed (originally from Chantilly VA) was there at the green. He yelled to us 2:16!. I asked what that meant and he barked back you're playing slower than I would like - 4 hours and 15 minutes is what I want. I replied you're saying we're 8 minutes slow...? Well that's outrageous and you're missing the point of why we are here. It's to have fun. Clearly this guy is not in the right job. What he said ruined the day for me and soured the good course conditions and great layout. The fairways and greens were beautiful, the variety of holes was great and overall played long from the white tees. It's amazing that I hadn't played this course before, especially since I've played over 50 courses in the area over the past 30 years. Too bad the starter is such a small thinker and spoiled a fun day; fun thru 9 holes that is. "
OVERALL SCORE: 8 [8]
Tom on 09/04/2015:
" Played there for the first time last year, left quite a few strokes out on the course. I intended to rectify that situation, when we go back in October. This is now one of our two must play courses, out of the 6 we usually choose. It was very beautiful course and even being in the center of town, there was quite a bit on wildlife. I would recommend this course to anyone, it was liked by everyone in our group, and our handicaps range from 2 -32. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
gjankowsk on 08/20/2015:
" Course was in very good shape. Very disappointed in the staff and overall experience. Played there about 10 years ago and it was great! The starter was fully dressed as a Scotsman. They served soup/chowder on the back nine. Great great time! This round however was just plain and business like and seeing where they cross started it took FOREVER to play the back nine! I believe the ranger knew the very slow foursome in front of us because he kept stopping and talking to them...never sped them up. Will not play there again. The ranger said to us we should not play so fast (we were not) as a response to our comments about slow play in front of us! "
OVERALL SCORE: 6 [6]
Jim G. on 07/19/2015:
" I hadn't played this course for many years since our spring group years ago finally stopped coming because we felt that management was really never interested in whether we had a good time. I went back this year to play the updated course. I was a single, had a tee time around 8:00, and arrived about 25 minutes early. Starter immediately asked me to tee off in a earlier group without any time to warm up or ever hit a practice putt. I didn't want to make a fuss, but I once again felt that course management wasn't interested in whether I had a good time, they just wanted to fill all openings in the tee sheet. In my mind, management still didn't care about the customers. I ended up playing OK but will think twice before I return. Greens were OK, but many fairways had significant poor grass areas. Maybe this is a result of the harsh winter. You definitely can't play summer rules (or play it down) at Pine Lakes. I played the course at 6300 yards. There were two par five's, but also had 4 par four's over 400 years. So, it felt longer that a normal 6300 yard course. Last comment is that the greens crew needs better training. The 16th hole is a pretty par 3. The pin was in the back. The entire back of the green on the right side was perfect. But the greens staff placed the flag on the left in an area that has many pot marks of dead grass. There was no excuse for that pin position. "
OVERALL SCORE: 7 [7]
Mike on 07/10/2015:
" Never ever again! Although the course was very nice the staff is horrendous. We played with a foursome of which one was handicapped. The staff was so rude we felt as if we were an employee being spoken to in a condescending manner. To top it off we were literally yelled at for driving our golf cart to the car as we do on every other course. Apparently you are not supposed to but no one told us and there are no signs stating so. I have been golfing in Myrtle Beach for 15 years and I can say never ever again here!! "
OVERALL SCORE: 6 [6]
M Scott on 01/20/2015:
" The course itself was fun. However, it took just short of 6 hours to play. The group in front of us was so slow. No ranger, no one at turn to speed up play. Second time to course, will not visit again. "
OVERALL SCORE: 7 [7]
Miles (Veazie, ME) on 11/21/2014:
" Rate of play not pushed and well manicured. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Gail on 10/27/2014:
" The course has lost all of its ambience. No hot chocolate, no chowder, no kilts. It was get them in and get them out. This is definitely one of those times we should have never gone back and just kept the old great memories. "
OVERALL SCORE: 3 [3]
Clayton (Virginia Beach, VA) on 10/14/2014:
" Excellent. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
John (Great Falls, MT) on 09/21/2014:
" Nice course. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
David (Novi, MI) on 09/06/2014:
" Course is in awful condition. 2.5 hours to play 9 holes under those conditions. We quit playing. "
OVERALL SCORE: 4 [4]
John (Bellmore, NY) on 09/05/2014:
" Great. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Lawrence (Mechanicsburg, PA) on 07/29/2014:
" Great course "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Shawn (Chichester, NH) on 07/29/2014:
" Course in great shape. Extremely friendly and helpful. Nice extras like GPS, ball and club wash on carts unlike some others course. Excellent value for price. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Ed (Munhall, PA) on 07/24/2014:
" Ended our round after 2 holes because of rain and lightning-have rain checks and look forward to playing the course next trip. "
OVERALL SCORE: 8 [8]
Daniel (Newport News, VA) on 07/02/2014:
" I was a single and was paired with a great group of golfer. Lots of laughs on an immaculate course. Definitely recommend and will definitely play a couple of rounds when my family and I return to MB next year. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Terry (Overland Park, KS) on 06/09/2014:
" OK "
OVERALL SCORE: 6 [6]
Thomas (Barre, MA) on 06/06/2014:
" Excellent experience "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Jerry (Mebane, NC) on 06/05/2014:
" Tees and fairways were in excellent shape, despite some players who do not repair their divots on the greens. Staff very helpful. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Wesley (Kathleen ,GA) on 06/05/2014:
" Lay out of the course. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Bill (Leesburg, VA) on 06/03/2014:
" Slow play, marshalls did nothing to improve pace of play. No driving range, taking out of rotation. "
OVERALL SCORE: 7 [7]
David (Bluefield, WV) on 06/02/2014:
" My father, who recently passed, was a member here for almost 20 years ending in 2008. He loved this course and so do I. The facilities, the course, the service are outstanding and I needed to come here with my son and play it again. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Steve (Kernersville, NC) on 06/02/2014:
" Great "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Rick (Great Falls, VA) on 06/02/2014:
" The rough and fairways were sparse probably due to weather conditions this year. Greens were in good shape. "
OVERALL SCORE: 7 [7]
David on 04/30/2014:
" David (VA) I didn't spend time in the pro shop due to the attitude of the staff encountered, primarily due to their overwhelming attitude and lack of appropriate communication skills. The grill was only barely passable as such, due to food served on cold buns and no options as to how you would prefer them to be prepared. All when the attendant finally decided to serve you, only after she meticulously cleaned the cash register keys. As for the staff... Other than the minority of a couple individuals, the staff should be meticulously trained in the basics of client etiquette!!! Unless they would prefer to operate as a private club and spare the public from spending their hard earned money to support them. Tees, greens and fairways were in great shape, but by April 19th, the water that had accumulated on the course resulted in cart path only constraints, other than particular holes on the back side and only where ropes were down to allow cart travel in well drained portions of the course, to allow 90 degree access to the opposite side locations, in order to improve speed of play. Subsequent observation of cart travels in such areas resulted in the Ranger going off on us for being in a location that was quite apparently used for cart travel, where permanent cart paths were not constructed or defined. Perhaps they should spend some of their money to finish permanently constructed cart paths that would certainly prevent any miscommunication regarding where the carts are to travel and purchase themselves some additional spikes and rope to insure that their intent is securely communicated. Anyone failing to abide by such constraints could them be escorted off the course without any question as to who said what to whom. Someone would have to pay me to play there again! I've played golf for over 40 years, including collegiate and other competitive events, including locations with quite a bit more esteem than Pine Lakes, without such personnel issues as I've experienced on this trip to Myrtle Beach. "
OVERALL SCORE: 4 [4]
Bruce (Haverhill, MA) on 04/29/2014:
" Very helpful and friendly "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Nicholas (Brewster, MA) on 04/17/2014:
" OK "
OVERALL SCORE: 6 [6]
Buzz (Culloden, WV) on 04/08/2014:
" Spectacular "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Tim (Hodgeville, KY) on 04/08/2014:
" Really great "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
See All 649 reviews »